Father’s Day   1 comment

Still not in a good place emotionally to write.  But here was my fb status for Father’s Day.  

 

The other day there was this guy on the side of the road. He needed a ride so I stopped. He was wearing a rather beaten up Eagles sweatshirt and was in need of a haircut and a shave. His name was Bill. As soon as he got in the car I could smell the alcohol. It was barely 11 AM. I took him into town while he told me of his recent hardship and praised me for stopping. He was just a lonely, troubled guy in need of a ride. He reminded me of my father and that made me sad and happy at the same time. Sad because I miss my old man and I don’t like thinking of him doing something similar and happy because I love my old man and I like thinking that when he did something similar someone was kind enough to pull over and give him a lift. Happy Father’s Day, Papa Joe. Whatever road your traveling, whatever scene you’re trying to make, I wish you all the comforts and all the luck possible. I love you. And Happy Father’s Day to all of you other dads. Especially Bill. I hope you made it back home safely. Everyone deserves a way back home.

Posted June 15, 2014 by reclaimingtecla in Poetry

One response to “Father’s Day

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Indeed, you just did a wonderful gift for him! Fantastic… happy father’s day to you and your dad…

What do you think about that?

